Share on


Lucille Veilleux, CDPDJ Award of Honour Winner

// Wapikoni mobile

To mark the 40th anniversary of the Charter, the Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse has honoured 40 individuals who have committed to the daily struggle for the advancement of human rights. The jury, headed by Louise Arbour, has cited the commitment of Lucille Veilleux toward the rights of young Indigenous people in her work with Wapikoni mobile. As our funding and partnership development coordinator, Lucille has devoted her energy and talents at the service of young Indigenous people with Wapikoni since 2006.

A lawyer by training and an experienced producer, Lucille Veilleux has extensive experience in both the public and private sectors. After having managed Productions Vent dEst, she became in 1987 the deputy director general of French Programming at the NFB. In 1997 she was head of documentary programming at Canal D and in 1999 she took over as head of the Cinema and Television department at SODEC. While working as a consultant over many years, she was instrumental in the launch of the Forum sur le développement de lindustrie du doublage au Québec. Over her career, she produced or coproduced numerous films, including award-winning feature-length documentaries. Among the most notable were La Turlute des années dures by Richard Boutet and Pascal Gélinas (Prix Ouimet-Molson en 1983); La guerre oubliée by Richard Boutet; Ce quil reste de nous by Hugo Latulippe and François Prévost; Visionnaires planétaires by Sylvie van Brabant; Escale à Kitcisakik by Mathieu Vachon; and most recently,  Les Indiens, l'aigle et le dindon dIphigénie by Marcoux-Fortier and Karine van Ameringen, which follows the lives and artistic journeys of five Wapikoni participants, including Samian, the Anishnabe artist who recorded his first songs in the mobile studio in Pikogan in 2004.

Lucille Veilleux received this honour for her work in the Indigenous rights category at the same time as other inspiring personalities such as Édith Cloutier and Nadine Vollant. Melissa Mollen Dupuis, chairperson of the board of directors of  Wapikoni and Wapikoni participant, Widia Larivière, Wapikoni were also honoured for their work with the Idle No More movement in Québec.

For more information:


Photo, from left to right: Widia Larivière, Louise Arbour, Melissa Mollen Dupuis and Lucille Veilleux.